STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

I overcame my fear of the future

salad
For as long as I can remember, my only goal in life has been to become a doctor. And in my second year of college, with “the future” right around the bend, that thought terrified me. I started discovering other interests and realizing that medical school, just getting into medical school, would be much more intense than I had anticipated. The neat picture I had created for my future was beginning to come apart and still I couldn’t bear to let go of it. In that frame of mind, I drifted, panicked, struggled, and somehow persevered through my sophomore year of college.
The idea of being a physician was so simple when I was a kid: I want to make other kids feel better when they’re sick and give them lollipops. And over the course of my adolescence, nothing really challenged that simple motivation. I started learning a little more about what it meant and what it took to be a physician, but all of the difficulties sounded like something I could deal with when I was older and more mature. Suddenly I was 19, I was supposed to be older and mature, and according to the traditional timeline, I would be applying to medical school in a little over a year.
I don’t remember my reaction to that realization exactly, but it was something between a horrified scream and a cold sweat. After that initial shock, though, I sat down to think and plan and question. How am I supposed to get into medical school? CAN I get into medical school? Do I want to? Of course, at the same time, I was doing the sort of growing and exploring that college students do, and I realized that there are classes I enjoy a lot more than integrative biology, my intended major. I want to be a doctor; aren’t I supposed to love biology? Then I did a little more digging and found that being a doctor isn’t at all what I thought it was. It was more: more strenuous but also more exciting.