STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

I Overcame Self Doubt

mystri99
“Never let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game.” - A Cinderella Story

This school year, I tried out for my school’s volleyball team. As a freshman, I didn’t expect anything and just tried my best, hoping it would get me somewhere. It did. I made it into the school’s Varsity volleyball team and while I was surprised, I was also proud and savored the moment. I had been on cloud nine, but I finally realized the commitment and drive I’d need during the first week of training.

Drills were tough, weekly fitness sessions excruciating, and my body ached at the end of each day. I knew I would have to train hard to assert myself on the team, but I wasn’t sure I could. What’s worse, I was surrounded only by upperclassmen. The mere fact made me feel inferior and intimidated, and I started to dread going to training. I was benched the first few matches we played, and my disappointment grew each time. My teammates were nice to me, but because I’m naturally shy, I put up a wall and would awkwardly sit alone during bus rides. I just felt like I wasn’t worthy and didn’t belong. I doubted my abilities, I doubted my love for the sport, and I doubted myself.