STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

I Overcame My English Class

abanana47
This year was the first year I really had ever had a hard teacher. Most of my teachers before have been pretty easy going. They saw that I was a pretty good student, got A's, and did the work, so they would give me a good grade. Not my English teacher. For once, I was given the grade I really deserved, and I did not really like it. She marked off for silly mistakes that any other teacher would have ignored. I knew that it was incorrect and that I really deserved the grade I had gotten, but after so many years of getting off easy, it was a little frustrating. Usually, I never have to study for any kind of test. I am pretty good at winging these kinds of things, and I normally do fairly well. But not in my English class. I promptly learned this after I got a solid C- on a pretty big test.
I was really testing the waters when the end of the semester came around and I was sitting at a low A-, even after all of the extra credit essays I wrote. We had one final test on "Julius Caesar", so I knew I had to study my socks off. I reread the play, read everything there was about it on Sparknotes, read all the footnotes, and printed off about twenty more sheets of notes. It turns out that studying actually does help. Yes, my grade did go down to a bit, but I was able to keep my A. Many of my classmates dropped the class second semester, but I was determined to stick through it. Even though I still hear complaining from the kids who dropped the class, I am actually glad I stayed.