STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

What Stresses Me Out: A New Environment

xyipeng
When I first stepped into the school upper division hallway, I was dumbfounded: the hallway was congested with so many energetic students, who were chatting, chasing and laughing. People’s loud voice, mixed with the incessant noise of closing lockers made the whole place chaotic. I nearly cried out: “Where am I?”

There is no wonder that I asked such question. I am a Chinese student who come to study in a high school in USA. Undoubtedly, the environment in USA is totally different from that in China. At the beginning of my time in USA, this completely new environment significantly stressed me out, but the good news is: later I found a secret recipe to conquer the stress. Well, let me continue my story:

After I calmed down a little bit, I found my locker, picked up my books and went to my first class, English. In this class, we started to read Hamlet. Even though I read Hamlet in Chinese version before, I had no idea what the book talked about as all the words were old English. I just kept looking up the words in my electronic dictionary. When it came to class discussion, I didn’t dare to raise my hand to answer the teacher’s questions because I didn’t even understand the teacher’s questions, which sounded really abstract. In a word, I looked rather reticent in class. The first day at school, as I could remember, was pretty depressing.