STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

I am Scared of the silver blade

@AlyssiaBrownSOFTBALL#5

What scares me is depression, and what can come with it, like cutting and suicide. Yes. I was a cutter. I had been doing it for 6 months, before anyone else knew about it. I remember in the ninth grade my reputation was ruined because I didn’t give a boy what he wanted. So they ganged up on me and kept harassing me, to the point where I didn’t even want to live anymore. People started making fun of me and things just got worse and worse. Then one day I finally had enough. So when I got home I stole a knife from the kitchen and ran upstairs to the bathroom. I pulled up my sleeves and looked for my veins and slid the knife across them. I did it again repeatedly. I just let the blood run into the sink. Then I bandaged up my arm and went on with the rest of my night. I fell asleep and my arm started to throb. It hurt so much, yet it felt so good. I just wanted to do it again. As I woke up and got ready for my day I tried to keep my arm hidden away from my parents. When I went to school it started up again, the bullying and the name calling. So I ran into the girl’s bathroom, pulled up my sleeves and did about three more slices up my left arm. I just let it drop into the toilet. I just don’t understand what this feels so good and it’s so addicting. I just can’t stop, until one day my mom saw my arm. She was speechless all she did was cry and cry. I didn’t mean to hurt my mother, I love her so much. But still I just couldn’t stop cutting as months passed it just got worse and worse, the cutting got deeper, and the depression doubled. I started losing weight drastically, and I just couldn’t help it. My mom brought me to the doctors and they were gonna send me to a ward. I remember having a panic attack at the doctor’s office and passing out. I had to be run through tests. My results were bad. When I went to get the help that I need, I real