STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

What is and what should never be: What’s wrong with Citizen Journalists reporting online today

Dave Masko
This essay reflects on my 40 years as a newspaper reporter, and why today's Internet content is troublesome with so many inexperienced citizen journalists.

What is and what should never be:
What’s wrong with Citizen Journalists reporting online today
By Dave Masko
There’s mean creatures writing on the Internet today.
By “mean creatures” I refer to the so-called “Citizen Journalists” who have a knack with computers, but don’t understand or adhere to the standard rules of print journalism that’s been a big part of my writing career since 1968 when I worked as a reporter for my high school newspaper.
In turn, these feral writers are skilled in cut and paste, but not in either creative or standard modes of writing good newspaper copy. In fact, many of these Citizen Journalists have never heard the term “copy” as something written in order for it to be printed in a newspaper, magazine or an advertisement.
Thus, what we now have online are computer users, programmers, web designer, IT people, software engineers, systems analysts, webmasters and all sorts of “techies” and “geeks” writing content using their own rules or lack or rules when producing the stories reported online today.
-more-

MaskoWriting/Add 1
That’s akin to taking a mail man and asking him to sit in for your local butcher; while butchering copy is what Citizen Journalists seem to be good at. I should know after writing online for the past three years and reading what my Citizen Journalist “colleagues” produce as so-called real journalism.
In fact, what these amateurs often produce a sort of long-form Tweet or text message that is most plagiarized material from other websites.