STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

Missing You: A Facebook Message Monologue

esdavids2011
"You are probably wondering why I’m not writing this on your wall or telling it to anyone else I know. I guess I am just not ready for the rest of the world to know how I feel now that you’re gone. I miss you, there is no denying that, but I’ve been missing you for a good 3 years now. I know that I can never make this rift right. I was too late. Our relationship can never be fixed and it kills me.

I remember when we were still close, do you? We used to tell each other everything- hopes, dreams, fears- we told each other countless secrets and seemed to know everything about each other. When you decided to take our relationship to the next level, I was unprepared. I wanted you and, deep down, I think I knew that you would be an amazing boyfriend, that you would be amazing for me. Let’s be real, though, I was afraid of losing our friendship, which I had come to depend on in so many different ways. I figured that if I went along with what you wanted, I would get to keep what I wanted.
I think that when the rumors started about our relationship, and your problems, I felt betrayed, though my anger covered up my hurt pretty well. I felt as if, now that we were together, the trust was gone and, with it, the understanding that had once flowed freely between us. Of course, who doesn’t have problems? Who doesn’t have things they don’t want to talk about. How could I have been so negligent to have tossed you aside simply because you were scared to tell me things that would change the nature of our relationship? One of my biggest regrets is never taking the time to understand, to process, to help you move forward. Instead, I chose not to listen, and it’s a choice I will never be able to turn around and make right.