STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

Cooking at College

seamstressofwords
Moving into an apartment at college meant a few things, but the most important thing it meant was that I got a kitchen and that I could cook.

I've always loved to cook, ever since I was little and slaving away at my little easy bake oven making cookies and cakes for my mom and dad and sister. Being able to cook for myself has been quite the learning experience, although it'll be a long time before I'm a home style cook like my mother.

There is just one problem cooking at college, and that's money. The good stuff is typically too expensive for me, and the cheaper stuff is too unhealthy, and I end up having other people swipe me into my dining hall because I don't feel like defrosting meat to make hamburger helper. Cooking for myself on a semi daily basis has shown itself to be more difficult than I thought.