STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

For The Rest Of Your Life

Kwweesten
"What is your major," she said.
"Professional writing," I responded.
"Oh that's great! My husband was a writing major. He was published a few times before he realized he needed a real job to make money, so he became a teacher."

I had to pick my jaw up off the floor after the conversation I had with this woman. Was she kidding me? I busted my butt for four years straight to maintain good grades, make money in order to get by, keep my sanity in check and this woman wants to tell me subtly that my major is useless now? Thank you but no thank you. I'll be dammed if I am going to let this woman get the best of me.

Unfortunately for her and her teacher of a husband, I plan to do everything I can to be successful after I graduate in May. I've come extremely far, given up sports to take on more classes, given up a social life to build my resume, and so many more regrets that won't come into play when it all pays off.

In this day and age, money shouldn't be factored in to any student’s decision when they choose a major in college. The only question they should be asked is "what do you love to do?" then take it and run with it. I love writing and I am going to find my niche in time.

God knows this economy is suffering as is and I don't plan to work my life away in order to make all the money I can. I am doing just fine living comfortably in my own way. Yeah, my floors aren't heated and I don't drive around in a Bentley. But let me tell you, I guarantee you I have less stress in my life, more happiness, and more down time then any top paid employee in this country.