STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

Lip Rings and Dumb Things

SavannahtheHuman
Hi. My name is Savannah Thorpe and I used to keep a wonderful blog until I went to college and died. Not literally, but I did this crazy thing where I decided to stop loving myself for a little while and took 20 credits worth of classes, took up fencing, and joined the gospel choir. But I just took my last exam Friday afternoon and I don’t go back to school until the beginning of February. So until then, I plan on taking the College page of this awesome website by storm and offering first-hand advice on good ideas, bad ideas, and all those funny ideas in between.

Before we delve into the tragic comedy that has been my love life thus far, we’ll start with an equally laughable epic debacle of an episode known as “the time I got a lip ring.”

For those of you who don’t know, I have a nose stud. I got it the day after I graduated from high school. My time there didn’t end spectacularly, and the draconian uniform rules prevented all kinds of piercings besides one or two in the earlobe. So the following Saturday, I loaded my mom and grandma up in my little Honda so that they could sign off on the papers saying “I hereby allow this strange, slightly overweight inked-up 40-year-old to puncture my 17-year-old daughter’s face” and left with a cute little stud on the right side of my nose. Super sassy.

Well, after that, I realized how much I loved the experience of having piercings done. I promise I’m no masochist by any stretch. I keep Phineas and Ferb band-aids around for when I get paper cuts, for goodness sake. But the thrill leading up to the piercing, the sharp pain of the needle, and the ultimate reward of having a new decoration or piece of jewelry...I love the whole journey.