STAGE OF LIFE       Share Your Story       Coupons       Education Resources

Favorite Book: ”What Happened To Goodbye” by Sarah Dessen taught me it's okay to be yourself

Mykayla Jones
Being a writer I like to read, there are many books I have read, plenty have made me cry, laugh, or touched my heart in many ways. However, if I were to choose one I would choose What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen.
Have you ever wanted to be someone else? What if you got the chance to be someone else? Though, you didn’t mind because you didn’t want to be yourself, anyways, because you were running from yourself. You were running the past, from reality, you were living in a fantasy world. We have all had something that has happen to us in the past, that we regret. Weather the situation was tragic or minor. And sometimes that situation comes to haunt us in the future, and you can do is run from it. You can run all you want, but you eventually will run out of places to go, and you will have to face reality. That’s what happens to Mclean in What Happen to Goodbye.
This amazing book inspired me to be myself and it’s not okay to run from the past, no matter what is in the past. People tend to run from their past, weather it is failure, having a bad childhood or even experiencing a crime. Though, the past is who you are, it makes you, YOU. The past makes you more stronger that you already are. Just take one day at a time and remember if you hide from your problems they will never go away, until they are resolved.